New Home, New Adventure

There has been a lot of change in the McBride household this past month! It has been awhile since my last post. It was a busy semester finishing up school and figuring out the next step for our little family. So, let me update you on what has happened within the past month and a half. We knew that the next step was going to be moving somewhere   so that Justin could get his MBA. He had applied to a few different programs across the country, including Georgetown University. One day, I came home from my internship and saw Justin sitting in the living room right behind a hat, with a big Georgetown “G,” sitting on our ottoman. I stopped in the doorway as I processed what I was seeing and asked, “Does that mean you got into Georgetown?” I will never forget the excitement all over his face.  He just beamed from ear to ear and rushed over to give be a big hug. I know he was a little nervous about hearing back from this particular school. I couldn’t bee more proud of him. I have been amazed at how hardworking and tenacious Justin has been through this application process – he has worked so hard for this!

 

With that being said, I finally graduated with my B.S. degree in elementary education and we have just recently moved into our very first home right outside of D.C.!The house is a work in progress, that is for sure – but we are loving every second of making it our home. Stay tuned over the next little while because we are going to share what we have been doing with the house! Over Memorial Day weekend, we had my family and Justin’s Mom in town. It was our first weekend in D.C. and it was so fun to have them here with us to explore our new city. If you are looking for a great place for brunch that’s small and quiet while visiting D.C., you have to go to Evening Star Cafe in Del Ray. They have the most delicious blueberry pancakes with brown sugar cream and candied pecans. Yum!

I loved having both of my sisters in town. My older sister, Kate, surprised us. She is in the middle of dental school and doesn’t get time off very often. However, she had time off for the long weekend and so she was able to visit, too. My younger sister, Grace, hadn’t been to D.C. since she was a baby. It was fun to watch her see all of the monuments, the White House, and the Capital Building for the first time.

Other than that, we have been adjusting to life in D.C. very easily. There is so much to do here and so much history to learn. We already bought bikes so that we can bike around Old Town Alexandria, down to Mount Vernon, or bike around the Monuments. We’ve already learned that the best way to see the monuments is by bike in the evening. It’s less crowded and the monuments look beautiful with the lights. We feel very lucky to live here and I think we are going to love this next chapter of our lives!

Leave a Reply

