Summer with a Patio

One thing that I absolutely love about our new house is the patio space. We’ve been living in an apartment for so long that it’s nice to have an outdoor space. Needless to say, Mops loves it. When we moved into the house, the yard was a mess. The garden was completely overgrown. And I mean completely – we found pavers, a water bottle, a sock, a sign from the house, and some other things buried under a bunch of ivy and other overgrown plants. We were so excited to finally have an outside space to enjoy the summer that fixing up the patio space was one of the very first things I wanted to do. However, I had no idea how much work gardening was! It’s a lot of work, but it was so worth it and it was fun to turn the space into something beautiful. Thank goodness for Justin and his strong man muscles haha! That ivy was ridiculously tough to tear out. Here are some pictures of the patio space when we first moved in. The photo quality isn’t great, but I think it still shows how overgrown everything was.

I knew I wanted to plant some hydrangeas in the space. I love hydrangeas and I wanted to be able to put fresh cut flowers in the house. I also wanted to keep to a pinks and purples color scheme. We ended up planting some Baby Snapdragons, Astillbe, and some Catmint. I love that Catmint looks very similar to lavender, which reminds me of our trip to France a couple of years ago. I’ve been inspired by the colonial gardens around here and I knew that I wanted something similar to that. We also learned how to split some existing Hostas that were in the space. Did you know that you can do that? It’s pretty easy, too – which is great for an amateur gardener like me. All you have to do is dig up the Hosta plant and then carefully divide the plant by it’s clusters. Just be careful with the roots. So here it is! We are quite happy with the results.

The other thing that we did this week was buy a grill. This grill is life changing! I absolutely love cooking with a grill. It’s easy, fast, and makes your food taste delicious. I think we’ll be spending quite a bit of time out on the patio and grilling this summer. That being said, I wanted to share my favorite recipe that we used this week. (And yes – we have been using the grill since we got it out of the box this past week haha!) It’s a Williams- Sonoma recipe and the link is attached below. It’s called Grilled Korean- Style  Short Ribs with Asian Slaw and it’s amazing. Best part is it’s easy to make! Trust me, do yourself a favor and make it this week. The only thing that I changed was adding some ramen noodles that we toasted with butter in a pan to add some crunch to the slaw. It was delicious!

http://blog.williams-sonoma.com/easy-korean-kalbi-recipe/?crlt.pid=camp.vQcbR4pWHjkj

FullSizeRender 3

Leave a Reply

